Little Bear School House Museum, located near Little Bear Creek south of Bozeman, was built in 1912 and used as a one room school until 1950. The log building was used as a private residence for a few years and then abandoned. About 1990 a number of individuals living in the Little Bear area decided to rescue the school and move it to its present location on Highway 191 near Gallatin Gateway. Eight years later after many fundraisers, donations, a small grant and membership dues, Little Bear School was opened to the public as a museum in 1998. The school house takes you back in time to 1912 and replicates what a one-room school would like at the time. Complete with old school desks with ink wells and writing slates, a teacher's desk, authentic black boards from Central Park School near Manhattan (Montana), books and learning materials from the time, visitors get an idea of what school was like during the first part of the 20th century. The museum also houses memorabilia about the local area including a local baseball team and the Gallatin Gateway Inn. Visitors can also see a lunch box collection, a collection fountain pens, and an antique merry-go-round from the former Rae School.